Is Yeshua God? Part I: Introduction



Introduction

A long held and often considered “traditional” doctrine of Christendom is the belief that the Father YHWH, the Anointed Son Yeshua (Jesus) and the Holy Spirit are all one being of which make up the entity that is the Almighty God.

This belief system comes in a variety of formats, such as The Trinity, Tritheism, Binity and Modalism. The typical basic assersion being that God is “three Persons in one Essence or Being”, of which includes Yeshua, the Son of God, or otherwise called “God the Son” by adherents of these doctrines.

However, not all Christians are in agreement with this doctrine, and assert that it was a later invention or teaching that came into the church, and was not the original teaching of Yeshua or his Apostles as found in the Bible.

It is very typical however that such Christians are branded as “heretics”, “false Christians” or “cultists” by the majority of churches and individuals professing to the Christian faith, as the doctrine of Yeshua being God Himself has long been considered the very “core teaching” of Christianity for many centuries, and to deny it is to be equated to the “antichrist” or a “devil worshipper” in the eyes of most modern day mainstream Christians.

Meanwhile, the Christians who reject the doctrine of Yeshua’s Deity, accuse their opponents of being the ones partaking in false worship, and as partakers of “idolatry” by identifying and worshipping a lesser being as God Himself or as co-equal to God, when in their view he isn’t.

Of course, both parties claim they have proficient evidence from scripture to support their claims…


Premise

In this article series, I will be examining these doctrines, and shall endeavour to present an in-depth study of the scriptures, for both “for” and “against” Yeshua’s Godship, to enable the reader to come to their own conclusion, whilst also concluding with my own personal statement of conviction on the matter.

This article series will be discussed within the limits of “Prima Scriptura” (which means “the scriptures above all”). Therefore this will be a scriptually based examination, and shall seek to defer to the Bible’s original self-contained internal definitions by its original authors, and will also make use of scholarly and language reference works in the attainment of this.

To begin, I shall firstly list scriptures in which on plain surface reading are directly “against” the notion of Yeshua being the Almighty God Yah, scriptures of ambiguous nature or contested translation, and the scriptures which appear to be “for” on plain surface reading.

Then in the following sections, I shall discuss “hermeneutical frameworking” of all these scriptures, as well as the various translations of the original Hebrew, Greek and Aramaic renditions.



Scriptural References


Scriptures Opposing Yeshua Being God

  • YHWH acquired/created/made (qanah/ktizó) me the beginning of his way, for/before (qedem/eis) his works/creations (miph’al/ergon) of long ago. From ancient times I was founded/installed/poured out (nacak/themelioó) from the start, from times earlier than the earth. Then I was beside Him as a skilled craftsman. I was the one He was especially fond of day by day; I rejoiced before Him all the time.” – Proverbs 8:22-23, 30
  • “In my vision in the night I continued to watch, and I saw one like the Son of Man coming with the clouds of heaven. He approached the Ancient of Days and was led into His presence. And he was given dominion, glory, and kingship, that the people of every nation and language should serve him“.Daniel 7:13-14
  • Then He said; ‘you are My servant! And through you, I’ll be glorified But now,’ says YHWH (The One who shaped me as His servant from the belly), ‘You must collect Jacob for Me so that Israel will all be returned.’ He said that before Him, I’ll be glorified, and in my God, I’ll gain strength”. – Isaiah 49:3, 5
  • This is what YHWH says: Israel is my firstborn son…”. – Exodus 4:22; “I am YHWH, your Holy One, the Creator of Israel, and your King.”Isaiah 43:15 (Hebrew Versions)
  • “As soon as Yeshua was baptized, he went up out of the water. At that moment heaven was opened, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and alighting on him. Look! Also, a voice from the heavens said: ‘This is my Son, the beloved, whom I have approved.’” – Matthew 3:16-17
  • “But Yeshua answered them: ‘The hour has come for the Son of man to be glorified. Now I am troubled, and what should I say? Father, save me out of this hour. Nevertheless, this is why I have come to this hour. Father, glorify your name.”’ Then a voice came out of heaven: ‘I have glorified it and will glorify it again’.” John 12:23, 27-28
  • “However, Yeshua cried out and said: “He that puts faith in me puts faith, not in me only, but in Him also that sent me; and he that beholds me beholds also him that sent me“John 12:44-45
  • “Do not let your hearts be troubled. You have faith in God, have faith also in me.” – John 14:1
  • “‘Yeshua said to him: ‘Why do you call me good? Nobody is good except one, God.’” – Mark 10:18
  • The Father is greater than I am“.John 14:28
  • And at three in the afternoon Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?” (which means ‘My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?’)”. – Mark 15:34, Matthew 27:46
  • “Yeshua said to her: ‘Stop clinging to me, for I have not yet ascended to the Father. But go to my brothers and say to them, ‘I am ascending to my Father and your Father and to my God and your God.’” – John 20:17
  • “The one who overcomes I will make a pillar in the temple of my God, and he will never again leave it. Upon him I will write the name of my God, and the name of the city of my God (the new Jerusalem that comes down out of heaven from my God), and my new name”.Revelation 3:12
  • “And going a little way forward, he fell facedown, praying: ‘My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass away from me. Yet, not as I will, but as You will.‘”Matthew 26:39
  • “So now, Father, glorify me at Your side with the glory that I had alongside You before the world was.” – John 17:5
  • He has put his trust in God; let Him now rescue him if He wants him, for he said, ‘I am God’s Son‘”. – Matthew 27:43
  • He [Yeshua] said… ‘Look! In the chapter of the scroll it was written about me: ‘I’ve come to do Your Will, O God‘.”Hebrews 10:7
  • “When Yeshua had spoken these things, he lifted up his eyes to heaven and said, ‘Father, the hour has arrived… Now this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Yeshua [the] Anointed whom You have sent‘”. – John 17:1, 3
  • When he was being insulted, he did not insult in return. When he was suffering, he did not threaten, but he entrusted himself to the One who judges righteously. – 1 Peter 2:23
  • “For there is one God, and one mediator between God and men, a man, [the] Anointed Yeshua –  1 Timothy 2:5
  • “And Yeshua kept increasing in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and menLuke 2:52
  • “‘But so that you may know that the Son of Man has authority on earth to forgive sins’… Then he said to the paralytic, ‘Get up, pick up your mat, and go home.’ And the man got up and went home. When the crowds saw this, they were filled with awe and glorified God, who had given such authority to men“.Matthew 9:6-8
  • “Yeshua called out: “You know me and you know where I am from. And I have not come of my own initiative, but the One who sent me is real, and you do not know Him. I know Him, because I am a representative from Him, and that One sent me.”” John 7:28-29
  • “But for the world to know that I love the Father, I am doing just as the Father has commanded me to do“. – John 14:31
  • “‘My teaching is not my own,’ Yeshua replied. ‘It comes from Him who sent me. If anyone desires to do His will, he will know whether my teaching is from God or whether I speak from myself‘”.John 7:16-17
  • Concerning that day and hour nobody knows, neither the angels of the heavens, nor the Son, but only the Father“. – Matthew 24:36; “The day of YHWH has approached… But, this will all last just one day, which is only known by YHWH“.Zechariah 14:1, 7
  • “Even in your own law it is written that the testimony of two men is valid. I am one who testifies about myself, and the Father, who sent me, also testifies about me”.John 8:17-18
  • [The] Anointed Yeshua is the one who died, yes, more than that, the one who was raised up, who is at the right hand of God and who also pleads for us.Romans 8:34
  • I am no longer in the world, but they are in the world, and I am coming to You. Holy Father, watch over them on account of your own name, which you have given me, so that they may be one just as we are one”.John 17:11
  • “I keep asking that the God of our Lord Yeshua [the] Anointed, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know Him better”.Ephesians 1:17
  • “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Yeshua [the] Anointed…”Ephesians 1:3
  • “We give thanks to the God and Father of our Lord Yeshua [the] Anointed….”Colossians 1:3
  • Then together, as with one mind and one mouth, we can all bring glory to the God and Father of our Lord Yeshua the Anointed One. – Romans 15:6
  • “…for us there is but one God, the Father, out of whom all things came and for whom we exist. And there is but one Lord, Yeshua [the] Anointed, through whom all things came and through whom we exist”. – 1 Corinthians 8:6
  •  “But I want you to know that the head of every man is the Anointed [One]; in turn, the head of a woman is the man; in turn, the head of the Anointed [One] is God.“  – 1 Corinthians 11:3
  • “…you belong to the Anointed One, and the Anointed One belongs to God. – 1 Corinthians 3:23
  • “In that day you will no longer ask me anything. Truly, truly, I tell you, whatever you ask the Father in my name, He will give you”John 16:23
  • “…For this very reason, God exalted him to a superior position and kindly gave him the name that is above every other name.” Philippians 2:9
  • “Long ago God spoke to our forefathers by means of the prophets on many occasions and in many ways.  Now in these last days he has spoken to us by means of a Son, whom he appointed heir of all things, and through whom he made the systems of things…. You loved righteousness, and you hated lawlessness. That is why God, your God, anointed you with the oil of exultation more than your companions‘.” – Hebrews 1:1-2, 9
  • “However, He [God] didn’t entrust the home that’s coming (the one I’m talking about) to the hands of [His angelic] messengers! For somewhere, someone testified to this fact when he asked: ‘Just what is man that You should remember him, or the Son of Man that You should watch over him? Although You [YHWH] made him just a little lower than [Your angelic] messengers, You then crowned him with glory and honor, and put him over everything that You had made with Your hands! You put everything under his feet!’ So notice that when He [God] put everything under his [Yeshua’s] feet, He didn’t leave anything out, there’s nothing that he isn’t in charge of”.. – Hebrews 2:5-8
  •  ”No, it was not by following artfully contrived false stories that we made known to you the power and presence of our Lord Yeshua [the] Anointed, but rather, we were eyewitnesses of his magnificence.  For he received from God the Father honour and glory when words such as these were conveyed to him by the magnificent glory: ‘This is My Son, My beloved, whom I myself have approved.’  Yes, these words we heard coming from heaven while we were with him in the holy mountain.” 2 Peter 1:16-18
  • “Now, all High Priests are selected from among mankind, and then they’re appointed over other men and assigned to do the things of God, such as offering the gifts and the sacrifices for sins…However, nobody can take this honor for himself; he can only be called to [the Priesthood] by God (like Aaron was). Likewise, the Anointed One didn’t glorify himself to the position of High Priest! No, that was done by the One who said to him; ‘You’re My Son… Today I have begotten you!'”. – Hebrews 5:1, 4-5
  • “During his life on earth, [the] Anointed [One] offered up supplications and also petitions, with strong outcries and tears, to the One who was able to save him out of death, and he was favourably heard for his godly fear“. – Hebrews 5:7
  • “For [the] Anointed [One] did not enter a sanctuary made with human hands, that was only a copy of the true one; he entered heaven itself, now to appear for us before God in his presence. – Hebrews 9:24
  • Then, in the end, after he’s brought all governments, authorities, and powers to nothing, he will hand over the Kingdom to his God and Father. For he must rule [as king] until he’s put all his enemies under his feet and the final enemy, the death, has been brought to an end. Yes, he will indeed put everything under his feet! However, when it says that everything will be put under his feet, it’s evident that the exception is the One who put everything under him. For after everything has been put under him, the Son will submit to the One who put everything under him, so that God can be everything to everyone. – 1 Corinthians 15:24-28; “Then YHWH will be the King of the earth; and in that Day, there’ll be just one Lord, and he will have just one name” – Zechariah 14:9
  • No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God remains in us, and His love is perfected in us”. – 1 John 4:12
  • “I charge you in the presence of God, who gives life to all things, and of the Anointed Yeshua… to keep the commandment unstained and free from reproach until the appearing of our Lord Yeshua the Anointed, which He, God, will display at the proper time—He [God] who is the blessed and only Sovereign, the King of kings and Lord of lords, who alone has immortality, who dwells in unapproachable light, whom no one has ever seen or can see. To him be honor and eternal dominion. Amen”. – 1 Timothy 6:13-16
  • “The Revelation of Yeshua [the] Anointed, which God gave him. – Revelation 1:1
  • “Grace and peace to you from Him who is and was and is to come, and from the seven Spirits before his throne, and from Yeshua [the] Anointed, the faithful witness, the firstborn from the dead, and the ruler of the kings of the earth. To him who loves us and has released us from our sins by his blood, who has made us to be a kingdom, priests to his God and Father—to him be the glory and power forever and ever! Amen”. – Revelation 1:4-6
  • God is not a man, that He should lie, or a son of man, that He should change His mind. Does He speak and not act? Does He promise and not fulfil?”Numbers 23:19; “…And you will see the Son of Man sitting at the right hand of power and coming on the clouds of heaven.”Mark 14:62
  • “However, the last Adam became a life-giving spirit“. – 1 Corinthians 15:45; “God is spirit. – John 4:24
  • My glory I will not give to another. – Isaiah 48:11; “And I have given them the glory which You have given me, so that they may be one, as we are one”. – John 17:22
  • God cannot be tempted by evil… ” – James 1:13; “And because he [Yeshua] suffered and was tempted, he’s also able to help those who are still being tempted….Yeshua the Son of God…. has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet he did not sin.” Hebrews 2:18, 4:14-15; “Now, YHWH will give you a sign… Look! A virgin will get pregnant and then bear a son whom you must call, Immanuel. He’ll eat butter and honey before he is sure whether he wants to be wicked or good. ‘But, before the boy can know good from bad; By resisting wicked persuasions, He will choose to do what is right.”Isaiah 7:14-16



Ambiguous Scriptures (For OR Against Yeshua Being God)

  • For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God/Divine/godlike(?), Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace” / “For a child has been born to us, a son given to us, and the authority is upon his shoulder. And the wondrous adviser, the mighty God, the everlasting Father, called his name, “the prince of peace (?). – Isaiah 9:6
  • “But about the Son He says: ‘Your throne, O God/God is your throne(?), forever and ever, and justice is the scepter of Your kingdom’.”Hebrews 1:8
  • But, when speaking of the Son, [it said]… ‘In the beginning, Lord/YHWH, you laid the foundations of the earth, and [you] made the heavens with your hands. But although they’ll pass away, you’ll still remain; For like clothes, they’ll grow old. Then, as [you would do to] a robe, you’ll wrap them up and change them, but, you remain the same, and your years will never expire'”.Hebrews 1:8 10-12, Psalm 102:2
  • “He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of/over(?) every creation“ – Colossians 1:15
  • For there are three that bear record in heaven, the Father, the Word, and the Holy Spirit: and these three are one/are in agreement(?). – 1 John 5:7
  • “In the beginning was the Word/Son(?), and the Word/Son(?) was with God, and the Word/Son(?) was God/a god/divine/godlike(?). He/it(?) was with God in the beginning. Through him/it(?) all things were made, and without him/it(?) nothing was made that has been made.”“. – John 1:13
  • “And the Judeans replied: ‘We won’t be stoning you for doing good things, but for your blasphemy!‘Although you’re just a man, you’re making yourself God/[a] god(?)'”.John 10:33
  • “Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here; see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe. Thomas said to him, “My Lord and my God!/My Lord, and, my God!(?)””. – John 20:27-28
  • “And to the messenger of the church in Laodicea write: These things says the Amen, the faithful and true Witness, the beginning/origin/ruler(?) of God’s creation. – Revelation 3:14
  • “Then the Jews said to him: “You are not yet 50 years old, and still you have seen Abraham?”Yeshua said to them: “Most truly I say to you, before Abraham came into existence, I AM/I existed before Abraham(?).John 8:57-58; (“God said to Moses, “I am who I am/become what I become/I am the Being(?). This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I am/I become/the Being(?) has sent me to you”Exodus 3:14).
  • “So if you confess and say the words in your mouths that Yeshua is Lord/YHWH(?), and if you truly believe in your hearts that God raised him from the dead, you’ll be saved! ….Therefore: ‘Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord/YHWH(?) will be saved!’” – Romans 10:9, 13; “Then, all who call on the name of YHWH will be the ones who are saved…”. – Joel 2:32
  • No man has seen God at any time; the only-begotten/one of a kind(?) God/Divine/godlike one(?) who is at the Father’s side is the one who has explained Him”John 1:18
  • “And now, Father, glorify me in Your presence with the glory I had with You before the world existed”. – John 17:5
  • “Rather, the divinity/deity/Godhead(?) fully lives within him bodily, and you’re [also] fully within him, [the one] who’s the head and source of all government and power”. – Colossians 2:910
  • “And without controversy great is the mystery of godliness/piety(?); God/he(?) was manifest in the flesh, justified in the Spirit, seen of angels, preached unto the Gentiles, believed on in the world, received up into glory”.1 Timothy 3:16
  • “Keep this mental attitude in you that was also in [the] Anointed Yeshua, who, although he was existing in God’s apperance/was God himself (?), did not steal equality to God/did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage(?).” Philippians 2:5-6
  • “This letter is from Simon Peter, a slave and apostle of Yeshua [the] Anointed. I am writing to you who share the same precious faith we have. This faith was given to you because of the justice and fairness of Yeshua [the] Anointed, our God/Lord(?) and Savior”.2 Peter 1:1
  • “Keep watch over yourselves and the entire flock of which the Holy Spirit has made you overseers. Be shepherds of the congregation of God/the Lord(?), which he purchased with his own blood“.Acts 20:28
  • “…waiting for our blessed hope, the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior Yeshua [the] Anointed/of our great God, and of our Saviour Yeshua [the] Anointed(?)…”Titus 2:13
  • “Theirs are the patriarchs, and from them proceeds the human descent of [the] Anointed [One], who is God/a god over all, blessed forever!/[the] Anointed [One] who is over all. God be blessed forever(?) Amen”.Romans 9:5
  • “Without father or mother, without genealogy, without beginning of days or end of life(?)/without [any record of] beginning of days nor ending of life(?), resembling the Son of God, he remains a priest forever”.Hebrews 7:3
  • “Now we know that the Son of God is come and has given us understanding, so that we may know Him who is true; and we are in Him who is true, in His Son Yeshua the Anointed. He is the true God and eternal life“.1 John 5:20
  • “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit. – Matthew 28:19
  • “Then God said, “Let us make man in our image, after our likeness”Genesis 1:26



Scriptures Supporting Yeshua Being God

  • “None of the rulers of this age understood this, for if they had, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory” – 1 Corinthians 2:8; “Who is this King of glory? YHWH, strong and mighty…”Psalm 24:8
  • “…Do not fear what they fear; do not be shaken. But in your hearts sanctify the Anointed One as Lord“.1 Peter 3:14-15; “Do not fear what they fear; do not live in dread. YHWH of Armies is the One you shall regard as holy…”Isaiah 8:12-13
  • “This is what YHWH says, The King of Israel and his Repurchaser, YHWH of armies: ‘I am the first and I am the last. There is no God but me”. – Isaiah 44:6
  •  “Listen to me, O Jacob, and Israel, whom I have called. I am the same One. I am the first; I am also the last. My own hand laid the foundation of the earth, And my right hand spread out the heavens. When I call to them, they stand up together. – Isaiah 48:12-13
  • “I am the Alpha and the Omega”, says the Lord/YHWH God, “the One who is and who was and who is coming, the Almighty… “When I saw him, I fell as dead at his feet. And he laid his right hand on me and said: “Do not be afraid. I am the First and the Last… and the living one. And although I died, look! I am living throughout ages of ages. I also hold the keys to death and the place of the dead.”Revelation 1:8, 1718
  • And He [God] said to me: “They have come to pass! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end. To anyone thirsting I will give from the spring of the water of life free“. – Revelation 21:6
  • “Yes, YHWH/the Lord, The God who gave His Breath to the Prophets, sent His messenger to show His slaves the things that will happen very quickly. And look… I’m coming quickly!‘Look! I am coming quickly, and the reward I give is with me, to repay each one according to his work. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end. – Revelation 22:6-7, 12-13
  • “Then they’ll go and fight against the Lamb. But because he’s the Lord of lords and King of kings, the Lamb and those who are with him (the called, elected, and faithful) will conquer them”. – Revelation 17:14; “It’s a fact that your God is the God of gods, Lord of lords, and King of kings“. – Daniel 2:47
  • “He said to me: “These words are faithful and true; yes, the Lord, the God who inspired the prophets, has sent his angel to show his slaves the things that must shortly take place.”Revelation 22:6; “I, Yeshua, sent my angel to bear witness to you about these things for the congregations. I am the root and the offspring of David and the bright morning star'”. – Revelation 22:16
  • “But again, regarding bringing His firstborn into the world, [it] says: ‘Let all the [angelic] messengers bow low/worship(?) before himHebrews 1:6; “For, YHWH will judge all His people, and take comfort [in the fall of] His servants. Because He saw they were failing and weak; In a hostile invasion, they’ll [fall]. So, rejoice with Him, O you heavens, and may God’s messengers all bow low/worship before Him. Rejoice with His people, you nations, and may all of God’s sons be strengthened by Him”. – Deuteronomy 32-36, 43
  • “…and among the lampstands was One like the Son of Man, dressed in a long robe, with a golden sash around his chest. The hair of his head was white like wool, as white as snow, and his eyes were like a blazing fire”. – Revelation 1:13-14; “As I continued to watch, thrones were set in place, and the Ancient of Days took His seat. His clothing was white as snow, and the hair of His head was like pure wool. His throne was flaming with fire, and its wheels were all ablaze”. – Daniel 7:9
  • “I, even I, am YHWH, and apart from me there is no savior.”Isaiah 43:11; Yeshua is “’the stone you builders rejected, which has become the cornerstone. Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved.”’” – Acts 4:11
  • “In those days John the Baptist came, preaching in the wilderness of Judea and saying, “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is near. This is he who was spoken of through the prophet Isaiah: “A voice of one calling in the wilderness, ‘Prepare the way for YHWH, make straight paths for Him”.Matthew 3:1-3. “A voice of one calling: ‘Prepare the way for YHWH in the wilderness; make a straight highway for our God in the desert'”.Isaiah 40:3
  • I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep”. – John 10:11, He tends his flock like a shepherd: He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart; he gently leads those that have young”. – Isaiah 40:11. YHWH my shepherd; I shall not want”. – Psalm 23:1
  • “’As for you, my flock, this is what the Sovereign YHWH says: I will judge between one sheep and another, and between rams and goats. – Ezekiel 34:17. When the Son of Man comes in His glory, and all the angels with Him, He will sit on His glorious throne. All the nations will be gathered before Him, and He will separate the people one from another, as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goat“.Matthew 25:32
  • “He also called God his own Father, making himself equal to God“.John 5:18
  • “Then YHWH my God will come, and all the holy ones with him. – Zechariah 14:5; “When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him…” Matthew 25:31


Now we have our scriptural references. It’s time to discuss them.


On the one hand, we have many scriptures where it appears Yeshua is not God, but he:

  • Was created by God
  • Has a God
  • Is sat beside God
  • Assists God
  • Was sent by God
  • Talks to God
  • Worships God
  • Prays to God
  • Pleads to God
  • Is rewarded by God
  • Is saved by God
  • Favoured by God in the same way as he was by men
  • Is legally testified by God as his witness
  • Spoken to by God from Heaven above whilst he himself is on Earth
  • Can be tempted like us whilst God can’t be tempted
  • Is visible, whilst God is eternally invisible
  • Is compared to his Apostles as brothers and companions to be rewarded in an alike manner
  • Is called a “son of man” but God is “not a son of man”
  • “Became” a life-giving spirit in comparison to God who “is” and was “always” a life-giving spirit
  • Could not make himself a High Priest but had to be appointed by God
  • Tells people not to call him “good” because “only God is good”
  • Never made himself equal to God
  • Isn’t all knowing, but God is
  • Does the will of God and not his own
  • Is not as great as his Father God
  • Gives his glory to his followers, whilst God gives his glory to nobody
  • That only God the Father is the Ancient of Days


But we also have scriptures which say:

  • God is our only saviour, yet calls Yeshua the saviour
  • God and Yeshua are both called the Fine Shepherd
  • God and Yeshua are both called the Alpha and Omega, First and Last
  • God and Yeshua are both called King of Kings
  • God is called King of Glory, Yeshua is called Lord of Glory
  • God and Yeshua are both coming with their angels
  • God and Yeshua both judge between Sheep & Goats
  • God and ‘Yeshua’ both sent an angel to John
  • Thomas called Yeshua his “Lord and God”
  • Yeshua is attributed with the name of YHWH
  • Yeshua is attributed with some of the visual “physical features” of God
  • He is equal to God because he is God’s Son


And we also have several questionable scriptures of word translation, which can support either framework, depending on their translation, of which these phrases may mean several things and can alter depending on context.



Building Our Framework

It’s time to introduce the concept of “creating a framework”. We have two options;

Either, we look at the scriptures “supporting” Yeshua being God, and then we translate the rest of the Bible through that lens, meaning we would have to say;

Yeshua was talking to himself, rescuing himself, worshipping himself, and that any voice from God to him, on Earth or in Heaven, is either some sort of “internal monologue”, which can be verbally heard by others, that God literally has physical conversations with his own consciousness, of which have their own independence, or, that God is made up of three literal distinict people, akin to some kind of conjoined set of twins or triplets.

On the other hand, if we look at all the scriptures through the lens of “opposing” Yeshua being God, then likewise we must find alternative context to fit that framework based in scripture and nowhere else. In this, we would have to claim that;

Descriptions such as “alpha and omega” and “king of kings” are somehow not unique titles to God Almighty, and we would have to question such things as; “Does the Bible teach that there can be more than one person called “God”? “Can another who is not God appear to be as or look the same as God”? “Can someone be described to be God without actually truly being God?”


In applying our frameworks, we will then read the entire Bible using the definitions born from these frameworks and apply them to all scripture universally. We have to be able to demonstrate other examples in scripture of the framework, theology and language we present, without causing any internal contradiction in any way whatsoever.

Our framework must be:

  • 1. Rooted in scripture
  • 2. Harmonious (no contradictions) with the entire Old & New Testament Bible in doctrine, writing style, language and structure


Can the position that Yeshua is God, whether it be via the Trinity or Modalsim, be argued for on the basis of some Bible verses? As we see above, yes, very much so. But at the same time, the same can be said equally of other verses that can just as well be used to argue against the notion of Yeshua being God.

Typically, people of different Christologies will just throw their favourite verses at each other as if it were a food fight, and by the end of it get nowhere productive.

This is why we must throughly examine our positions, beyond merely throwing contradictory Bible verses around and butting heads with one another. We must to consider ‘all’ verses in context wholistically, and then we must figure out a way to systemise them into a structure so that the passages that seem to contradict each other, don’t actually contradict each other, but compliment and mesh with each other.

Hence, this requires a system of thought or “unifying paradigm”.


Before examining each framework, however, first we will be looking at the scriptures themselves of which are the cause of so much debate amongst Christians.

We will delve further in Part II:

Published by Proselyte of Yah

Arian-Christian Restorationist

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started