A Father & His Three Sons


There was a man with three sons.

He tells his sons that he is going out for the day, and that they should rake the garden whilst he is gone.

As the father goes out, two of the sons begin to rake the leaves in the garden and dispose of them in a bin. However, the one son begins to dig into the grass and rake lines down it, damaging the garden and making lines of soil.

The two others ask him; “why are you damaging our father’s garden?” to which the one son replies; “I’m just raking the garden as father instructed“. The two brothers try to explain to their one brother, that what the father meant was to rake the leaves, not the garden itself, but he did not listen to them and insisted they were wrong, and that what he was doing what was their father had instructed them to do.

The two brothers begin to get angry and proceed to severely beat their brother for not listening to what they had said and for damaging the garden.

When their father returned, he looked over the garden and was pleased with his two sons who had raked up the leaves, but then noticing one of his sons was bruised black and blue, he asked; “why are you bruised?” The two brothers immediately interrupt and say; “we punished him father, because he misunderstood what you said and did not listen to us when he informed him and damaged the garden!”.

Who will the father be the least happy with?

Published by Proselyte of Yah

Arian-Christian Restorationist

6 thoughts on “A Father & His Three Sons

  1. I am not sure who the Father will be least happy with?

    I have read the Post several times.

    Honestly, I don’t really know.

    I wanted to say least happy with the two brother’s who beat the other brother, but it seemed that the Father was okay with the way the garden looked after the two brother’s raked the leaves from the garden!

    I can’t imagine he was too happy with the two brother’s beating their brother for not listening to them, when he clearly said he knew the Father said something else? 🙄 I don’t know.

    I really don’t know?

    Like

    1. Yes exactly. I’ll let you think on it. Haha.

      I have wrote this in the style of a parable based upon several scriptures, in order to get brothers and sisters thinking more deeply. It reveals deep down what is in the heart and mind of a Christian and how they understand and interpret Yeshua’s teachings and how they view our relationship with God.

      Like

      1. Lol okay I’m still thinking on it.  I’m afraid you may have to give me a hint hahaha.I have thought and thought.Carolyn 😊 

        Like

      2. Ok I tried to reply here, but it didn’t seem to work at the time.

        I’m still thinking on it, but I don’t have a good answer, yet! 🙂

        Like

    2. Don’t worry about it, you don’t have to answer it here, it’s not an exam. I won’t be telling people the answer, I only want people to think about it. But if you want to talk more about it and my personal thoughts, we can speak in emails. 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi, ok, I may be wrong but I immediately felt that the physical beating of the brother was too harsh and that they had gone too far. I understand that he had refused to do what the father asked of him and that the other brothers had tried to warn him. But to take it upon themselves to punish that severely wasn’t their place. They should of let the father handle that part. Just my opinion. 🤷‍♀️

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started